Well, I finally got around to watching the DareDevil series on Netflix. I’ll be honest, I thought the first episode was, at best, OK. I dealt with the origin material well, and as far as I could tell, stayed pretty true to the roots of the comics. but still, OK. I’ll admit, DD was not my favorite Marvel property growing up. I do seem to recall that there was a period were he seemed to be the crossover character of choice, kind of like Wolverine in the 90s. As a result, the show did have to overcome that bias that I brought to the table.

DD So I watched Episode 1… Next day, Episode 2. Better, they had gotten a lot of the background material out of the way, and started to build the storyline. Still, I was not on fire for it. It was just better TV than average. The next day, I watched Episodes 3… and then 4… and then 5. If you’ll pardon my saying so, it had become a World on Fire. The hook was in and set. Sunday, episodes 6, 7, 8, and 9. I was mad because I knew dang well my job did not care how much i was enjoying the show, I still needed to be up at 5:30 to go to work. As I said somewhere else, if you are watching the sun rise, it should be because you are getting up & getting ready for work, not because you couldn’t stop watching DareDevil. I finished out the show on Wednesday night. One week, total, had passed and i am cursing/blessing Netflix for releasing the whole series in one go, and very unhappy that it will be 2016 before we get any new episodes.

A word of warning. As many of the Superhero movies have been lately, this is dark and gritty. For those curious about the Marvel Timeline, Season One takes place AFTER the Battle of New York (Avengers), but before the rise of Hydra (Captain America: Winter Soldier) There is quite a bit of violence, and violent death. Matt Murdock, aka DareDevil, has has anger issues that would make Bruce Banner say, “Hey, now, just a minute…”  After interrogating a thug, Matt has no qualms about dropping him over the side of a low building, confident that, since he’s landing in a trash container, he’ll probably survive. Murdock personally has a code against killing, but he has little problem with going right up next to that line.

The lead is played, and played well, by Charlie Cox. I am not personally familiar with anything he has done since the movie Stardust. But he does well. He needs to, because otherwise, he is in serious danger of being overshadowed by his cast mates.

Elden Henson plays a great Foggy Nelson. The kind, idealistic partner at Nelson & Murdock, Attorneys at Law (or Avacados at Law, you’ll know what I mean when you see it). He is joined by Deborah Ann Woll as Karen Page, their Office Manager, and initial damsel in distress. But the real danger of show thievery is Vincent D’Onofrio, as Wilson Fisk, the Kingpin.

D’Onofrio is not generally one of my favorite actors. I was never a fan of Law & Order, and while I liked Full Metal Jacket, his role there went from pathetic to deeply unsettling. As with the series itself, it took a couple of episodes to get used to the idea, and there were many times he reminded me of his role as Edgar in Men in Black, but he developed into the believable villian mastermind, and a credible physicle threat to DareDevil, as well.

Finally, I’m going to give a shout out to Toby Leonard Moore, who played James Wesley, Fisk’s Majordomo. He played his role extremely well, providing the right level of utter professionalism as the lieutenant to a major power player, with the right amount of ruthlessness that you would expect from someone in that position, coupled with respect and friendship of a man working with a boss he genuinely likes and respects. I don’t want to get into spoilers, but I don’t think we’ll be seeing him in season two, and I’ll miss the guy.

So, in review, I’m giving DareDevil Season One Four and a Half Stars (Out of Five). I enjoyed the heck out of it, and I’m looking forward to returning to Hell’s Kitchen in Season Two.

~Old Shib

